Monday, February 14, 2011

渋谷 [Shibuya]

Had a crazy week of tests last week, and this week is the big one! On Thursday we have our 中間試験 (chuukan shiken) which is basically our midterm. Sooooo everything we've learned in every category up until now.

It's a pretty momentous test.

Last week I had several kinds of tests, and most important of all, our first 会話 (kaiwa - conversation) exam with Japanese guests in the classroom! We were split into groups randomly of two or three people and were prompted on topics and how to go about starting the conversation. Of course, the guy in our group (who is infamous for being late or not showing at all), turned up late, so the girl and I were joking with our guest that it was okay to ignore him or give him really difficult questions. We had 30 minutes to fill and we did it without any problems.

... I wasn't really expecting problems as I had spent the previous evening with two Japanese friends and then on the phone with another Japanese friend so 4+ hours total of conversation. Most days that I hang out with Japanese friends or even with AJ I speak in Japanese. Being in the classroom is only a fraction of my learning.

Since Friday was a holiday (no school!) my Korean classmates invited me out with them to an underground Korean izakaya with a bunch of people from our class. Also one of our classmates works there so we got to harass him a lot. I learned a bunch of silly Korean drinking games and got to talk to people in a non-classroom environment so it was really fun. Afterwards different groups of people headed to the stations so I headed home.

Friday early afternoon I got a text from my buddy AJ asking if I wanted to meet up with him in Shibuya for lunch. So I checked my handy-dandy train map and figured out how to get there and what exit to go to and was only KIND OF late. We went to a Thai place and had some really good curry. Afterwards we went to Harajuku to just chill and walk around...

... and literally chill, because if I forgot to mention, it was snowing like crazy all day on Friday. Even as far as Osaka there was snow. Hnnrrgh.

After much waiting, we met up with AJ's friend Tsuyoshi and eventually Tsuyoshi's friend Daisuke. After much discussing, we decided to go to a club in Shibuya (after much resisting (AJ) and convincing (Tsuyoshi)) called Womb so we walked there from Harajuku. Since Tsuyoshi and Daisuke really wanted us to go they paid for us to get in and pretty much everything else. I mostly hung out in the lounge and chatted with people and since I went with three guys I was always being kept an eye on. I got to practice speaking with a lot of people and talking about Seattle (because everyone was asking) and hearing people tell me about their trips to the states and where they went and stuff. Mostly groups of girls wanted to talk to me so it was really fun. Lots of interesting bathroom conversations.

And then we all went to McDonald's at 6:00 AM and it was the best breakfast I have had since I have been here.

I got home around 8:00 AM and went straight to bed but was careful to not mess up my sleep schedule. And since it was only Saturday I got two full days of rest and study in.


Hmmm so I guess that's all that's really happened this week that's out of the norm!

Speaking of out of the norm: THE WEATHER.

It was kind of even BARELY snowing this morning and no one outside had their umbrellas so I ignored it. Got out of classes and it was pouring. Get home from being drenched by the rain and now it's blizzarding. Thankfully I had purchased an umbrella this weekend to prepare for the snow. I was sad because I felt like buying an umbrella was having my status as a Seattle-ite revoked. Oh well. I would have looked ridiculous without it.

Also that and the last time I was walking around without one a guy in a truck was like YOU LOOK COLD WHERE ARE YOU GOING WANT TO GET LUNCH WITH ME. And then later I got asked out in the same area by an old man.


Also a group of like eight girls in Harajuku station freaked out at me and I just stared at them and they were like YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE :D


And I really hope the snow stops soon. There's already close to two inches out there. Hnggghh.

And now back to studying I go.

PS: HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY

No comments:

Post a Comment